Celebrate your Geek

NerdI am constantly amazed at how talented and creative the people around me are. I have a lady at church writing her courageous story of survival, I have another friend dealing with cancer determined to help those around her, I have another friend who sends half her money to charities and another raising her son’s children. I include those outside the scope of creativity because they are truly gifted and giving people. They might not draw or write or paint or sculpt but they are inspiring and that’s the gift everyone should be aspiring to.

People have gifts that they don’t even realize are gifts. How about the gift of listening? You don’t know how many times I prayed for someone to just listen to me when I was trapped in that dark hole of depression. Listening is a gift. How about the gift of compassion? Let me tell you, not everyone has that gift. Some people I know have no concept of sympathy or empathy. They see the world in black and white and my world varying shades of grey (no pun intended for those of you who have read “Fifty Shades of Grey” – definitely not my world, LOL).

Today you’re not the couch. You are you, in all your wonderful colors (and yes, black, if you feel black today, black is a color). Whether you have talent or simply surrounded by it like I am, you are unique. There is only one of you so as I deal with my issues, which I will give a rest today – go out and see the world with news eyes. Try and spot the gifted around you; those making a different in their own way. They’re there, you’re there and I see you.

Leave a Reply

